Home / Sport News / Ronaldo among Golden Foot nominees

Ronaldo among Golden Foot nominees

The Real Madrid star has been has been named as one of 10 contenders for the prize, which aims to reward the best player in the world over the age of 28

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has been announced as one of 10 nominees for the 2013 Golden Foot award.

The Portugal international would be the first player from his country to win the prize, which was first given out in 2003, and aims to reward the best player in the world over the age of 28.

Team-mate Iker Casillas and Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta have also been nominated.

Past winners of the award, which takes into account the whole of a footballer’s career as well as current form, include Roberto Carlos, Ronaldinho, Francesco Totti, and last year’s winner, Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Players can only win the prize once, which has been presented at a ceremony in Monaco every year since its inception.

The 2013 trophy will be given out by Prince Albert II of Monaco in September, with the winner leaving a cast of their footprints in Monte Carlo’s ‘Champions Promenade.’

Nominees are chosen by a panel of representatives of Golden Foot’s media partners, with a public vote then taking place online.

Alongside Ronaldo, Casillas and Iniesta are:  Samuel Eto’o (Anzhi Makhachkala), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Didier Drogba (Galatasaray), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Miroslav Klose (Lazio), David Trezeguet (River Plate) and David Beckham (Paris Saint-Germain prior to retirement). 

View the original article here

About papers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top